For the 4 major tournaments - NZ Open (Seniors and Juniors), NZ Veterans, and North and South Island Individuals Championships, the following will apply:-

The Referee for the four National events shall be appointed by TTNZ from the list of International or National referees which has been approved by the TTNZ Umpires and Referees Committee.  Only the Referee can default a player. TTNZ and the URC may use their discretion to appoint a referee who does not meet this criteria if required.

The current approved Referees are:

International Referees

  • David Jackson

National Referees 

  • Garrett, Ron
  • Kusche, Joachim
  • Moore, Alan
  • Rennie, Hamish​​​​​​​

Regional Referees 

  • Hurr, Bob
  • Scarr, Val

Basic Referees 

  • Catto, Warwick  
  • Lea, John 
  • Macaskill, Jessica  
  • Maguire, Andrew 
  • Solt, Paul  
  • Rennie, Flint (Tam)


The following umpires are the qualified active international, national and regional umpires for Table Tennis New Zealand.  To be added to this list please contact TTNZ

International Umpires:

  • Garrett, Ron
  • Hurr, Robert
  • Jackson, David
  • Jackson, Paul
  • Kusche, Joachim
  • Moore, Alan
  • Rennie, Hamish
  • Stratford, Megan
  • Roberts, Averill
  • Scarr, Val 

Level Three:

  • Davey, Gregg
  • Fogarty, John
  • Goto, Akiko
  • Jarmin, Jim
  • Seaholme, Tim
  • Walle, Mimi​​​​​​​

Level Two:

  • Advilkar, Ruhi​​​​​​​
  • Beumelburg, Helen
  • ​​​​​​​Choi, Tommy
  • Lin, Derek
  • Marr, Andrew
  • McBride, David
  • ​​​​​​​Mercer-Beumelburg, Lydia
  • Op den Buysch, Paul
  • Portis, Kyra
  • Purvis, Jan
  • ​​​​​​​Richens, Canyon
  • Samson, Dave
  • Sew Hoy, Robin
  • ​​​​​​​Sheath, Ray
  • ​​​​​​​Shu, Dean​​​​​​​

Level One:

  • Bathurst, Alice
  • Bathurst, Emma
  • Bathurst, Jacqui
  • Blaom, Oliver
  • Bottger, Abigail
  • ​​​​​​​Bottger, Gary
  • ​​​​​​​Buzzard, Gemma
  • Bygrave, Rodney
  • Catto, Warwick 
  • ​​​​​​​Ellis, Barry
  • Grace, Ian
  • ​​​​​​​Gray, Zoe
  • Haines, Kevin
  • ​​​​​​​Hanson, Christopher
  • ​​​​​​​He, Kevin
  • Henderson, Paul
  • ​​​​​​​Jackson, Keegan
  • Keyter, Linda 
  • Hobbs, Matthew
  • Lea, John
  • Macaskill, Jessica 
  • Maguire, Andrew
  • ​​​​​​​Moriyama-Picard, Ayumi
  • ​​​​​​​Nawrath, Arn
  • ​​​​​​​Neal, Shelley
  • Neville, Georgina 
  • ​​​​​​​Qiu, Jack
  • ​​​​​​​Rennie, Flint (Tam)​​​​​​​
  • ​​​​​​​Siegruhn, Ingamar
  • Solt, Paul
  • Srinath, Srinivasan
  • Wilson, Grant
  • Young, Martin

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Blue Badged:

  • Roberts, Averill

To qualify for this status (which is an ITTF Award) , it is awarded to umpires who achieve the following:

  • Have completed two years as an IU
  • Have then attended an Advanced Umpire Training course - a one day course normally held prior to a tournament.
  • Have passed the written exam at the conclusion of the AUT.
  • Have been assessed as "meets expectations" on four occasions by an ITTF evaluator within a two year period - evaluators are usually present at most major events.

Maintaining blue badge status is achieved by gaining two "meets expectations" assessment in each subsequent two year period.